Safety Management Council (SMC)

Safety Management Council (SMC) consists of fleet safety personnel and law enforcement representatives. The council sponsors a variety of activities to educate its members about new developments in safety, and encourages professional driving to promote a better public image for the trucking industry.

Safety Seminars and Meetings
Full statewide council meetings are held twice annually, at a Spring seminar in April and a Fall seminar in September

The Cooperative Road Patrol Program
This council program is part of the American Trucking Associations' (ATA) national effort to regulate and improve the behavior of truck drivers on the highway. Patrol members are provided with forms which they fill out when they witness a truck driver speeding or driving improperly. Members also recognize commendable driving. Each report is recorded by TXTA who then forwards the information to the safety director of the driver's company for possible disciplinary or complimentary action.

Driver of the Year
2015 Award Winner: Daniel Philips | Genox Transportation

Each year the TXTA Safety Management Council sponsors a Driver of the Year Award. The recipient of this award is chosen from some of the best truck drivers operating in Texas. After being nominated by their companies, the drivers are rated in categories such as number of miles traveled without a chargeable accident, consistency, politeness on the road, and tenure. The TXTA Driver of the Year then represents TXTA in ATA's competition for the National Driver of the Year title.

Regional and State Truck Driving Championships
This project of the TXTA Safety Management Council, the Local Safety Councils and the TXTA Fleet Maintenance Council seeks to promote safety and professionalism among commercial drivers. Four regional championships and one statewide championship are held each spring with drivers qualifying for national competition. Drivers are tested on their ability to maneuver and control their vehicles under a number of difficult test situations.

Distinguished Safety Award
2015 Award Winner: Michael Vix | Southeastern Freight Lines

This award is presented each year to the safety director recognized as making outstanding contributions to the field of safety. A ring, jacket, lapel pin, and a plaque are presented to the recipient at TXTA's Annual Conference in July. 

Truck Safety Awards
Each year SMC recognizes the fleets of TXTA member companies which developed dignified professional driving performance in the trucking industry. These state winners, judged by the company's lowest overall accident frequency experience rates, are presented trophies and plaques in recognition of their achievement.

Cheshire Award
2015 Award Winner: Captain Omar Villarreal  |  TX Department of Public Safety

The C.H. Cheshire Award is presented each year to an individual in law enforcement in recognition of their support and contributions made to the TXTA Safety Management Council in promoting safer highways in Texas.

National Motor Transportation Certification Program
The National Motor Transportation Certification Program for Practicing Professionals in the Transportation Industry is established under the auspices of the Texas Trucking Association (TXTA), TXTA’s Safety Management Council (SMC), TXTA’s Fleet Maintenance Council (FMC) and the University of North Texas (UNT) The purpose of the Certification Program is to implement a comprehensive plan of accreditation and certification for individuals in the fields of motor carrier safety or maintenance; to identify those individuals that have met the criteria for accreditation; and to promote the intellectual development of those individuals, organizations, and institutions involved in motor carrier safety or maintenance.

For more information on SMC activities, contact Lance Shillingburg, Senior Vice President Safety & Education at 800-727-7135 x108.